Ella Fitzgerald Sings The George & Ira Gershwin Song Books - Vinyl Box Set

Ella Fitzgerald

$ 149.99 

This product is currently sold out.

Free shipping UPS Ground within the U.S.

Ella's collaboration with Nelson Riddle that is highly regarded as the pinnacle of her legendary Song Book series, will be released as a limited edition 6LP vinyl box set. A replica of the rare 5LP set originally released in 1959, the Ella 100 edition recreates for the first time since its initial release the original stereo box set on vinyl, the originally included five lithographs by French impressionist painter Bernard Buffet, as well as the hardcover book, Words And Music, which for this set has been updated with additional historical information and an afterword by noted author David Ritz. The 2017 collection was newly mastered by Ron McMaster at Capitol Studios in Hollywood where the album was originally recorded in 1959 under the supervision of Verve Records founder Norman Granz. A sixth LP enlarges the original 10-inch instrumental EP with orchestra tracks on Side One and additional material from the sessions on Side Two. One of the bonus tracks, a mono alternate take of "Oh! Lady Be Good!" is on vinyl for the first time.

Vol. 1

Side A

  1. Sam And Delilah
  2. But Not For Me
  3. My One And Only
  4. Let's Call The Whole Thing Off
  5. Beginner's Luck

Side B

  1. Oh, Lady Be Good!
  2. Nice Work If You Can Get It
  3. Things Are Looking Up
  4. Just Another Rhumba
  5. How Long Has This Been Going On

Vol. 2

Side A

  1. 'S Wonderful
  2. The Man I Love
  3. That Certain Feeling
  4. By Strauss
  5. Someone To Watch Over Me
  6. The Real American Folk Song

Side B

  1. Who Cares?
  2. Looking For A Boy
  3. They All Laughed
  4. My Cousin In Milwaukee
  5. Somebody From Somewhere

Vol. 3

Side A

  1. A Foggy Day
  2. Clap Yo' Hands
  3. For You, For Me, For Everyone
  4. Stiff Upper Lip
  5. Boy Wanted
  6. Strike Up The Band

Side B

  1. Soon
  2. I've Got A Crush On You
  3. Bidin' My Time
  4. Aren't You Kind Of Glad We Did?
  5. Of Thee I Sing (Baby)

Vol. 4

Side A

  1. The Half Of It, Dearie, Blues
  2. I Was Doing All Right
  3. He Loves And She Loves
  4. Love Is Sweeping The Country
  5. Treat Me Rough

Side B

  1. Love Is Here To Stay
  2. Slap That Bass
  3. Isn't It A Pity?
  4. Shall We Dance?
  5. Love Walked In
  6. You've Got What Gets Me 

Vol. 5

Side A

  1. They Can't Take That Away From Mwe
  2. Embraceable You
  3. I Can't Be Bothered Now
  4. Boy! Look What Love Has Done To Me
  5. Fascinating Rhythm

Side B

  1. Funny Face
  2. Lorelei
  3. Oh, So Nice
  4. Let's Kiss And Make Up
  5. I Got Rhythm 

Vol. 6

Side A – instrumentals originally on box set EP

  1. Promenade
  2. March Of The Swiss Soldiers
  3. Fidgety Feet
  4. Prelude I
  5. Prelude II
  6. Prelude III

Side B – all tracks not in original box set

  1. Somebody Loves Me – from the album Get Happy! 
  2. Cheerful Little Earful – from the album Get Happy! 
  3. But Not For Me – 45rpm single version
  4. Lorelei – alternate take/from pre-release sampler
  5. Love Is Here To Stay – alternate take/from pre-release sampler 
  6. Oh, Lady Be Good! – alternate take/first time on vinyl