At the Close of a Century - CD Set

Stevie Wonder

$ 59.98 

This product is currently sold out.

He's been called one of the most influential performers and songwriters of the century, but until 1999 Stevie Wonder didn't even have a box set to call his own. Such was the reissue campaign at Motown that, until very recently, some of the best pop music of the '60s sounded poorer in reissue form than when it was first played on AM radio. In 1996, the long-awaited Stevie Wonder digital-age hits package Song Review reached the shelves, but it didn't even follow compilation etiquette (that is, chronological order). Finally, At the Close of a Century made everything right — complete with digital remastering, near-perfect sound, complete coverage of his epic career, an attractive design, and copious liner notes and pictures. The box, a four-disc set spanning 1962 to 1996, debuts with "Fingertips, Pts. 1 & 2", the long-unheard seven-minute version of his first hit. The first disc includes every hit that fans can remember, including great-sounding versions of "Uptight (Everything's Alright)" and "Hey Love", plus plenty of moderate hits they may not remember, like his definitive cover of the Beatles' "We Can Work It Out". Disc two features more than a dozen of his biggest hits, including "Superstition", "You Are the Sunshine of My Life", "Living for the City", "Higher Ground", and "Boogie On Reggae Woman". Disc three begins with no less than nine tracks from Songs in the Key of Life, his standout double album from 1976. Right into the '80s and '90s, Stevie Wonder remained at the top of the charts, with hits like "Rocket Love", "Master Blaster (Jammin')", "Happy Birthday", "I Just Called to Say I Love You", and "Part-Time Lover". It took far too long, but Motown finally issued a box set worthy of Stevie Wonder's continuing artistry.

Disc 1

  1. Fingertips Pts. 1 & 2
  2. Uptight (Everything's Alright)
  3. Nothing's Too Good For My Baby
  4. Blowin' In the Wind
  5. A Place In The Sun
  6. Hey Love
  7. I Was Made To Love Her
  8. Until You Come Back To Me (That's What I'm Gonna Do)
  9. I'm Wondering
  10. Shoo-Be-Doo-Be-Doo-Da-Day
  11. You Met Your Match
  12. For Once In My Life
  13. I Don't Know Why
  14. My Cherie Amour
  15. Yester-Me, Yester-You, Yesterday
  16. Never Had A Dream Come True
  17. Signed, Sealed, Delivered I'm Yours
  18. Heaven Help Us All
  19. We Can Work It Out
  20. If You Really Love Me
  21. Never Dreamed You'd Leave In Summer
  22. Superwoman (Where Were You When I Needed You)
  23. I Love Every Little Thing About You

Disc 2

  1. Superstition
  2. You Are The Sunshine Of My Life
  3. You And I
  4. I Believe (When I Fall In Love It Will Be Forever)
  5. Too High
  6. Visions
  7. Living For The City
  8. Golden Lady
  9. Higher Ground
  10. All In Love Is Fair
  11. Don't You Worry 'Bout A Thing
  12. He's Misstra Know It All
  13. You Haven't Done Nothin'
  14. Heaven Is 10 Zillion Light Years Away
  15. Too Shy to Say
  16. Boogie On Reggae Woman
  17. Creepin'

Disc 3

  1. Sir Duke
  2. I Wish
  3. Knocks Me Off My Feet
  4. Pastime Paradise
  5. Isn't She Lovely
  6. Ngiculela-Es Una Historia-I Am Singing
  7. If It's Magic
  8. As
  9. Another Star
  10. Send One Your Love
  11. All I Do
  12. Rocket Love
  13. I Ain't Gonna Stand For It
  14. Master Blaster (Jammin')
  15. Lately
  16. Happy Birthday
  17. Sir Duke
  18. I Wish
  19. Knocks Me off My Feet
  20. Pastime Paradise
  21. Isn't She Lovely
  22. Ngiculela-Es Una Historia-I Am Singing
  23. If It's Magic

Disc 4

  1. That Girl
  2. Ribbon In The Sky
  3. Do I Do
  4. Love Light In Flight
  5. I Just Called To Say I Love You
  6. Overjoyed
  7. Part-Time Lover
  8. Go Home
  9. You Will Know
  10. Skeletons
  11. Gotta Have You
  12. These Three Words
  13. For Your Love
  14. How Come, How Long
  15. That Girl
  16. Ribbon in the Sky
  17. Do I Do
  18. Love Light in Flight
  19. I Just Called to Say I Love You
  20. Overjoyed
  21. Part-Time Lover
  22. Go Home
  23. You Will Know
  24. Skeletons